If you think that the Paleo diet may not be suitable for Asian or Oriental cuisine, then you better think again. The Paleo or Caveman diet is so flexible that you can turn nearly all your favorite cuisines into something that is considered to be Paleo friendly. This recipe will definitely be one of the best Oriental meals you’ll have for the week.
The Paleo diet is never boring when it comes to food. There are so many recipes that can be tweaked and turned into Paleo meals. You won’t even taste the difference between a regular or a Paleo approved way of cooking your favorite dish. Perhaps you might find it even tastier. The belief of Paleo meals being bland is also false because there are a lot of flavorful Paleo dishes that may even surpass the regular ones you enjoy now. Whether you choose to go fully on a Paleo diet or just want to cook some dishes in a healthier way, Paleo recipes will definitely satisfy your taste buds.
One reason that misleads people into thinking that Paleo is bland may be the lack of condiments within the Paleo food lists. This is not entirely true since there are a lot of condiments that can be labeled Paleo. This particular recipe uses sauce and condiment alternatives that are not only healthy but also Paleo approved. Asian cuisine, such as the dish featured here, can sometimes rely heavily on sauces and condiments. This makes every meal explode with rich flavors and aroma. A lot of people might think that making it Paleo will not deliver the same flavors and aroma that regular seasonings can, but this is not the case.
The most common sauces used to bring out the flavor of a dish are hoisin and oyster sauce, and these sauces can be Paleo. These are the best alternatives that can be used besides using the traditional soy sauce, and these are also the best Paleo substitute besides Tamari. So what makes both Oyster sauce and Hoisin sauce the best Paleo alternatives in seasoning your meals? Here are some major reasons why:
Hoisin And Oyster Sauces Are Wheat And Gluten Free
Just like Tamari, there are varieties of oyster and hoisin sauces which are wheat and gluten free. Wheat is a big no for Paleo, because of the many complications it causes to our bodies, which includes blocking of nutrients to be absorbed by it. Oyster and hoisin sauces are some of the very few condiments and sauces that do not use wheat, but you must still check the labels especially on commercially produced and processed foods.
Made From Healthy Ingredients
Oyster sauce uses oysters or oyster mushrooms which are both healthy and gives the same umami taste. Traditional hoisin sauce, on the other hand, uses soy beans but can be replaced with Tamari. This brings out the same flavor of the hoisin sauce without the cons associated with soy beans. The chilies and garlic that are usually added in hoisin are Paleo approved and provide several benefits to the body.
Have Less Or No Nasty Preservatives
There are a lot of hoisin and oyster sauces available in the market which have less or no preservatives. Preservatives are chemicals, and these chemicals are toxins that will slowly affect your body. With people becoming more aware of the health dangers of preservatives, companies are also starting to find better ways of ensuring their products last for longer even without the use of preservatives. Reading the labels can make a big difference as it can tell you whether you have the right hoisin or oyster sauce for your Paleo meals or not.
Indeed, Paleo diet meals are healthy and can be even tastier with these sauces. This is why Paleo is an exciting journey of finding healthier ways to enjoy the food we love to eat. And this is why you’ll definitely love this dish, too!